Kamphoefner Prize

AIA North Carolina and the North Carolina Architectural Foundation

Kamphoefner Prize

Established by Henry and Mabel Kamphoefner, the Kamphoefner Prize encourages individuals and firms to pursue the fundamental principles of the modern movement in architecture.  The $10,000 prize is awarded annually at the Summer Design Conference as funds permit.


The prize will be awarded to a licensed architect, or architectural firm currently practicing in North Carolina which has, for a sustained period of not less than 10 years, consistently contributed the most to the progress and excellence in the development of the Modern Movement in architecture. This is best understood by reading the words written by Henry Kamphoefner for the award certificate:

“The selection committee for this award believes that the chosen architect has demonstrated a consistent integrity and devotion over an acceptable period of time to further the development of the modern movement in architecture without yielding to any of the undesirable current clichés, neomodernistic mannerisms or artless historicism that have flawed the building culture of today.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                – Henry Kamphoefner

The candidate must be a member of the North Carolina Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.


Nominations may be made by members of AIA North Carolina and the Kamphoefner Prize Committee.  The committee is comprised of the past recipients of the Kamphoefner Prize.


All submissions must be made no later than 2018 In a 1”, 3-RING, HARDCOVER BINDER. 

Additionally, you must submit a digital copy of your information. Please create a single PDF file and place it on a flash drive, to be included in the submission folder. 

The submissions, not to exceed 20 8 ½” x 11” pages, should include the following information:

  • A nomination letter.
  • Design portfolio with descriptive statements and images of the nominees work.
  • Letters of support.

Previous winners

1988 J. Norman Pease Jr., FAIA
1990 Murray Whisnant, FIAIA
1991 Brian Shawcroft, AIA
1992 Philip A. Shive, FAIA
1993 Ligon B. Flynn, FAIA
1994 Marley P. Carroll, FAIA
1995 Frank Harmon, FAIA
1996 Lee Nicholas Helper Architecture
1997 Kenneth E. Hobgood, FAIA
1999 Ellen Weinstein, AIA
2001 Thomas B. Moore, AIA
2010 Jeffery S. Lee, FAIA and Phil Szostak, FAIA
2011 no recipient
2012 Arthur Cogswell, FAIA (posthumously)
Roger Cannon, FAIA
2013 no recipient
2014 no recipient
2015 no recipient
2016 Dennis Stallings, FAIA
2017 tonic design